DVD : Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Celebration - 2013
Price :
Quantity :
The Ohio Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission was established to recognize Dr. King's significance as a civil rights leader and to honor Ohioans who work to promote diversity and eliminate discrimination through nonviolent methods. Each year, the Commission presents awards to Ohioans to celebrate the life of Dr. King, whose teachings encourage nonviolent actions to secure equal rights for all Americans.

Community Building Award recipient: Wuyanbu Zutali, Canton
Cultural Awareness Award recipient: Center of Science & Industry (COSI), Columbus
Educational Award recipient: Emeka Aniagolu, Columbus
Social Justice Award recipient: Rev. Dr. Jefferey P. Kee, Columbus
Governor's Humanitarian Award: Judge Nathaniel R. Jones, Cincinnati

As part of the celebration, Ohio students who won their age group at the statewide oratorical contest present their speeches:

Asher Reddington, Columbus
Bre'Anna Walker, Columbus
Assata Gilmore, Columbus
Matthew Scott, South Euclid

Other speakers and musicians include: Lieutenant Governor Mary Taylor, Governor John Kasich, Latif Shadi, Rev. Lorenzo Norris, Rev. Joel L. King, William T. Green, Dr. Fannie L. Brown, New Faith Baptist Church of Christ Praise Team.

From the Trinity Episcopal Church in Columbus, Ohio, 1/17/2013.
January 17, 2013