DVD : Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Celebration - 2014
Price :
Quantity :
The Ohio Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission was established to recognize Dr. King's significance as a civil rights leader and to honor Ohioans who work to promote diversity and eliminate discrimination through nonviolent methods. Each year, the Commission presents awards to Ohioans to celebrate the life of Dr. King, whose teachings encourage nonviolent actions to secure equal rights for all Americans.

Community Building Award: Dr. Lorna Gonsalves
Cultural Awareness Award: Kelton House Museum & Garden
Economic Opportunity Award: Pastor Eugene Norris, II
Educational Excellence Award: Timothy Roberts
Governor's Humanitarian Award: Juanita Hollis

As part of the celebration, Ohio students who won their age group at the statewide oratorical contest present their speeches:

Olivia Moore, Beachwood
McKenna Hensley, New Albany
Larry Fulton, Pepper Pike

Other speakers and musicians include:
Dr. Howard T. Washington, Rev. Richard Burnett, Rabbi Harold Berman, Cynthia Dungey, Lieutenant Governor Mary Taylor, David Jehnsen, Rev. Lorenzo Norris, Rev. Joel L. King, Rickey Baker
January 16, 2014