DVD : Spotlight : Riffe Gallery - 100 Years of Art: Celebrating Columbus' Legacy
Price :
Quantity :
The Ohio Arts Council's Riffe Gallery presents 100 Years of Art: Celebrating Columbus' Legacy from January 26 - April 15, 2012.

Curated by Melissa Wolfe from the Columbus Museum of Art, 100 Years of Art serves as a tribute to Columbus' Bicentennial celebration. Covering a wide variety of media and artistic styles, the work in 100 Years of Art reveals the changing face of the capital city's artistic community. The 53 artists represented in this exhibition were influenced by local and national artistic developments as they helped to set the creative backdrop that still exists in Columbus today.

"The city's art world perhaps is best characterized by a remarkably easy and dynamic exchange among its diverse artistic communities, from folk art to fine art to commercial art, from local artistic personalities to national artistic movements," says Curator Melissa Wolfe. "This is a rare enough combination to suggest that Columbus, a 'typical Midwestern city,' has in its rather unassuming Midwestern way managed to offer that rare engaged and engaging environment within which artistic creativity takes hold."

Artists in the show include (hometown or state noted): Carlton Atherton (Pennsylvania), Arthur Baggs (New York), John Jay Barber (Sandusky), Ralph Bell (Unknown), George Bellows (Columbus), Paul Bogatay (Ava), Grandpa Smoky Brown (Dayton), Emerson Burkhart (Kalida), Theodore Butler (Columbus), Milton Caniff (Hillsboro), Robert Chadeayne (New York), May Cook (Chillicothe), Gilda Edwards (Pennsylvania), Ralph Fanning (New York), Albert Fauley (Fultonham), Lucy Fauley (Fultonham), Erwin Frey (Lima), Marion T. Gatrell (Columbus), Robert M. Gatrell (Marietta), Edward Parker Hayden (Haydenville), Maurice Hague (Richmond), William Hawkins (Kentucky), Edna Boies Hopkins (Michigan), James Roy Hopkins (Irwin), Billy Ireland (Chillicothe), Roman Johnson (Columbus), Murray Jones (North Carolina), Robert King (Lima), Ray Kinsman-Waters (Columbus), Harriet Kirkpatrick (Reynoldsburg), Edmund Kuehn (Columbus), Lucius Kutchin (McArthur), Edgar Littlefield (Tennessee), Roy Lichtenstein (New York), William Parker Little (Pennsylvania), August Lundberg (Denmark), Silas Martin (Westerville), Walter O. Mayo (Richwood), Mary Merrill (Unknown), Elijah Pierce (Mississippi), Charles Rosen (New York), Mark Russell (Springfield), Alice Schille (Columbus), Hoyt Sherman (Alabama), Yeteve Smith (Columbus), Carl Springer (Fultonham), Robert Stull (Springfield), Joseph Taylor (Unknown), James Thurber (Columbus), Stanley Twardowicz (Michigan), Byron Wenger (Canton), David Walcutt (Unknown) and John Henry Witt (Unknown).
January 26, 2012