DVD : Spotlight : Riffe Gallery - Watercolor Ohio 2012
Price :
Quantity :
The Ohio Arts Council's Riffe Gallery presents Watercolor Ohio 2012, Ohio Watercolor Society's 35th Annual Exhibition from November 1, 2012 - January 13, 2013.

Watercolor Ohio 2012 contains works by members of the Ohio Watercolor Society (OWS) and was juried this year by Mark Mehaffey, artist and signature member of the National Watercolor Society. The paintings in Watercolor Ohio 2012 illustrate the broad spectrum of work produced by watercolor artists and were chosen for their ability to delight the viewers' emotions as well as their eyes.

"When I jury a show I look primarily at three things," said Juror Mehaffey. "Emotional content; as the viewer, does the painting get me involved? Design; did the artist use the elements and principals of design to reinforce their content? And technique; did the actual application of paint fit with the content and the design? The visual answers to these questions by the accepted works were fantastic."

Since 1978 OWS has worked to perpetuate and advance the watercolor medium. Watercolor Ohio 2012 continues this tradition by presenting the highest quality work by some of Ohio's most talented artists.

Artists in the show include (hometown noted): Suzanne Accetta (Columbus), Judy Anderson (Westerville), Janine Bales (Carrollton), Phyllis Lawicki Barbalics (Cleveland), Jim Brower (Toledo), Christine Misencik Bunn (Fredericktown), Donna Stavreff Burns (Columbus), Angela Chang (Newport Coast, CA), Martin Chappuies (Toledo), David B. Cordas (Wadsworth), Kit Edwards Dailey (Jackson), Bob A. Davis (Massillon), Lorri Davis (Mason), Eva Ellis (Solon), Dee Fagedes (Cincinnati), Peter Frederick (Dayton), Heidi Garwig (Boardman), Misuk Goltz (Xenia), Frederick Graff (Medina), Yuki Hall (Beavercreek), Cody Heichel (Columbus), Sally S. Heston (Broadview Heights), Jan Holladay-Scheuber (Hamilton), Linda Hutchinson (Kent), Allen Hutton (Toledo), Gary A. Johnston (Olmstead Hills), Susan J. Kiedio (Parma Heights), George F. Kocar (Bay Village), Paul Kolasinski (Toledo), Ted Lawson (Canton), Christopher Leeper (Canfield), Amy Lewandowski (Shaker Heights), Susan Lyden (Bay Village), David Neil Mack (Toledo), Fran Mangino (Westerville), Karen Martin/Kwright Studios (Seville), Nancy Stewart Matin (Canton), Thomas N. Mayer (Mogadore), Mike McEnroe (Chardon), Trish McKinney (New Carlisle), Ned Moore (Columbus), Robert M. Moyer (Rocky River), Bruce Allen Neville (Cincinnati), Elise Newman (Shaker Heights), Gail Peters (Mentor), Karen Lisska Pettit (Cincinnati), Jeri Lynn Ellis Platt (Westerville), Lane Raiser (Lucasville), Vivian Ripley (Columbus), Janice K. Roch (Athens), Charles W. Rowland (Lewis Center), Annette Salrin (Canal Winchester), Susan Schreiber (Lancaster), Paul St. Denis (Bay Village), Carol Stevens (Norwalk), Rose Marie Strippoli (Bristol, PA), Timothy Jon Struna (Brewster, MA), John Trumbull (Slyvania), Robert H. Van Natta III (Walnut Creek), Ted Vassar (Palmyra, MI), Dannica Walker (Newport, MI), Deb Ward (West Harrison, IN), Isabel Zaldivar (Canton), Jerry Zelinskas (Canton) and Dennis Zimmerman (Findlay).
November 1, 2012